My Experience With a Border Jack

In favor of those of you with/thinking-of-getting a Border Jack dog, I’ve decided to give you a few pointers and share my experience. So, here goes…

6 months ago, after a chain of failed ‘relationships’ I woke up one morning and decided to get a puppy. The next day I was en route to the shelter. After examining several cages with puppies of all shapes and sizes, when opening the cages the puppies ran back in fear, however, one of them darted forward and 5 minutes later, that puppy was to be named Osher (“Joy”) and was curled up in my arms waiting for a taxi, since the smallest leash I had brought with me was twice her size.

First thing I did was take her straight to the vet. She of course threw up all over me on the ride over and the vet proclaimed she had gas and that all was good. So, there we were on the 3 hour train ride home. Turned out it was worms. Lots of them. Long worms. And the dog was mellow during our first 2 weeks together.

The Worms Period

Once we skipped over that hurdle, it became abundantly clear that this dog was not mellow by nature. In fact, on a scale of 1-10 (taking into consideration this is a puppy we’re talking about and puppies are playful by their very nature), 10 being hyperactive even if you give it a tranquilizer, Osher was at least a 10.1 (the part about the tranquilizer later proved to be spot on). This evoked relentless internet-searches trying to find out what breed this off-the-wall puppy was.

The Forever Hyperactive Period

A conclusion was finally reached. This was  a Border-Jack: half Border Collie, half Jack Russel.

The Ups: intelligent, quick learner, fun, playful

The Downs: anxious, a bit neurotic, stubborn (making the ‘quick learner’ sometimes seem completely pointless), playful (not always in the nice cute way), mean (when she wants to be)

The Undecided: doesn’t play with many dogs or humans- only with some, fearful of/vicious to the rest.

Last thing worth noting- the Border Jack mixed breed is no mistake. They are bred purposefully for a game called “Flyball“. If you have any doubt about this, these dogs jump so high and run so fast, your first 2 months with them will prove this to you. I promise.

You can check out Osher’s flyball training here!

So, should you get one?

I did 🙂

Osher

3 Responses to My Experience With a Border Jack

  1. KAP says:

    This is SO WOOF! (True) I’ve had a border jack since 8 wks of age and now is 6 months old and is very hyper active. Everything you described is exactly what I try to tell people. Mine on the other hand is not that friendly to strangers. Takes a while to warm up to a person if at all.
    It’s to bad I just found this in 2013!

  2. Ann Sim says:

    I have had dogs all my life and when I lost my last at 15.5 years I decided not to have another. After a few weeks, I just had to have a dog again. I had Jack Russells before and I also bred and showed Border Collies very successfully. I thought I would put something back into dogs after all the years pleasure I had with them and adopt a rescue one.. I searched on line many different rescue sites for 6 weeks before I saw a dog that I thought would be suitable. I applied for him, but didn`t see him in the flesh until he was brought to me for a 2 weeks trial. I knew whenever I set eyes on him that I was keeping him. He was described as a Jack Russell Terrier, but I could see from his photo that he was not pure Jack Russell. He is almost border collie marked, but is only just over 12 inches at shoulder. He is neutered and is 2 and half years old. I realised that he was Jack Russell cross Border Collie and my friend who has had Jack Russells for many years, confirmed it. He was a bit hyper at first, but after 7 weeks he is now a very well behaved loving dog and can already sit, stay and heel. He loves everybody and greets them all with a lick. I have to stop him from jumping up on my visitors to give them a lick. Like a collie, he likes playing with a ball, but will not give it back. I have to throw another one to get the first one. He is good on the lead now, but I haven`t let him off in an open space yet. I have about 1 and half acres of closed in grassland that is entered from my back garden and he runs about there and most times comes when I call. He is very food orientated and comes when I click and treat. His one fault is that he scavenges when out on the lead and will pick any type of food up and will not let me prise his mouth open to get it. He just swallows it. I try to watch what he is doing, but when on the extending lead he smells food and gets it before I see it. His walk passes a school and that is why all the food is lying about, but he loves the children petting him. In the house he loves nothing better than to snuggle up on your knee. I went on line to find out more about the Border Jack – that is where I found the name, and he has nothing like the nature that most people are describing.

  3. Melody says:

    I rescued a Border Jack at the local shelter. He was 8 weeks old. Now he’s 11 weeks. Wow, is he athletic and fast. He does love, love, love all people. He cries when a new friend leaves the house. He wanted so badly to meet the pizza delivery man. So I guess I’m blessed in this area. He does have some bad habits that I’m working on. The being mouthy with those baby teeth. His nickname is Baby Cujo. He’s ripping out the lawn too. Oh, his name is Aries. But he’s a love bug who will curl up on my lap and nap for 2 hours if I let him. He does know I am the pack leader and listens well…most of the time. lol My hope is to do agility with him. I think to be an owner of a Border Jack you must understand they need more exercise than the average dog. Worn out they are quite pleasant.

Leave a Reply

