When Push Comes To BDS

Macy Gray recently wrote on her official Facebook fan page:

“I’m booked for 2 shows in TelAviv. I’m getting alot of letters from activists urging/begging me to boycott by NOT performing in protest of Apartheid against the Palestinians. What the Israeli government is doing to Palestinians is disgusting, but I wanna go. I gotta lotta fans there I don’t want to cancel on and I…don’t know how my NOT going changes anything. What do you think? Stay or go?”

I am not a member of the BDS (Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions) movement in Israel or abroad and am not a supporter of it, generally speaking.

Here is what I replied:

“As a Jewish Israeli youth I experienced a whole lot of things my Palestinian friends never got to. This is your chance to say that there’s no reason a human should be treated any less than human just because of his race or religion.
This is an issue of the most basic morality.”

Here is a facebook message I received from someone I have never met or heard of, that according to his profile lives in London, is inspired by ‘Rabbi Leubavitch’ and ‘Love’, claims he speaks aramaic and whose interest is “inspiring the world’, less than 1 minute after my comment (Warning-obscene language):

“YOU ABSOLUTE COQ SUCKER DISGRACE TO YOUR PEOPLE I HOPE YOU GET KILLED BY A HIZBOALLA ROCKET U TRAITOR BOGED. IM GONNA SEND UR NAME AROUND AS A TRAITOR TO HIS NATION”

Interestingly enough, my comment did not in fact directly call for boycott. It was an expression of my feelings.

Also interesting is that my comment received more ‘likes’ than all the other hundreds of comments I’ve seen.

Opposing main stream ideas will always present a challenge. In Israel today we are fighting for our right to do just that.

But when opposing them means having to risk being threatened by people I have never met, though it does not deter me, in all honesty it troubles me. It troubles me that such people have voting rights and often also access to weapons.

When and where did we take such a huge wrong turn that we ended up like this?

 

UPDATE: Macy Grey has recently updated she will be performing in Tel Aviv.

One Response to When Push Comes To BDS

  1. anti-israel says:

    tahel

    To support Israel is to support the fellow who sent you the nice note. Absolutely no one of conscience supports Israel today. Fundamental decency demands that we stand against it. I am against Israel—their sickening anti-culture, their music, their synagogues..the whole rancid affair from top to bottom. It can’t be allowed to remain in this world. It’s an industrial pollutant and disgrace to the Jewish people.

Leave a Reply

